The Ministry of Education is a key Ministry in the State with headquarters at block 10, Idongesit Nkanga Secretariat, Uyo. The Ministry has 10 zonal education offices whose activities are coordinated by the Inspectorate Services Directorate. The zonal offices are at Uyo, Ikot Ekpene, Ikono, Etinan, Ikot Abasi, Oron, Itu, Abak, Ukanafun and Eket.

The Mission

Articulating, formulating and co-ordinating the implementation of educational policies and programmes through sustained monitoring and evaluation to deliver accessible, affordable and qualitative services for the overall interest and benefit of the citizenry.


The Vision

Raising the literacy rate of our people through the sustenance of free and compulsory education project, and to meet the philosophy of education in Nigeria as enshrined in the National Policy on Education (NPE) and the Sustainable Development Goals 4 (SDG4), among others.

  • Formulation of policy guidelines for implementation of UBE
  • -prescribing minimum standards for the UBE programmes.
  • -Collating and preparing periodic master plans for UBE programmes.
  • -identifies areas of possible intervention in the provision of adequate
  • – active collaboration with state government, ETF and UBEC.